TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Please login using your username and password to use the forum.

If you do not have an account please register to participate, it’s free!
TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

https://www.thercmodelboatforum.com/

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Steam controller

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Plymouth Sailer
Deck Hand
Deck Hand

Steam controller Empty
PostSubject: Steam controller   Steam controller EmptyFri Aug 14, 2020 7:30 pm

Hi, I'm still fairly new to steam and several things puzzle me. So your help and advice is sought.

I have a Chinese twin Vee engine and the regulator has four connectors. Obviously one is input, two is to the right cylinder and three the left.
So logic tells me that the fourth outlet is redundant and of no use.
Am I correct in this ?

Also the engine runs beautifully on compressed air at low pressure, but as soon as I introduce steam it doesn't want to know.
Steam seems to escape from almost everywhere and as a result I cannot get a working pressure in the boiler, or enough to blow the safety valve.

So any comments more than welcome. Thanks in advance.
Back to top Go down
Roadrunner
Forum Overlord
Forum Overlord
Roadrunner

Steam controller Empty
PostSubject: Re: Steam controller   Steam controller EmptySat Aug 15, 2020 12:42 am

I know enough about steam engines to know the chinese ones need a lot of work to run correctly... ( or remade
Parts.. sorry to say but there’s a reason those tend to be half the price and it’s half the quality!)

Porting Varys.... it’s usually 2 in 2 out... but they work top to bottom for the most part on ossolating.. ... unless it’s a slide valve then It’s shuttled in the steam chest... It could be reverse function....