TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Please login using your username and password to use the forum.

If you do not have an account please register to participate, it’s free!
TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

https://www.thercmodelboatforum.com/

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Dochas
Deck Hand
Deck Hand

Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion Empty
PostSubject: Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion   Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion EmptyMon Apr 12, 2021 10:24 pm

Hi folks,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to all things RC but I have set myself a challenge to build an autonomous boat which I'm hoping will eventually (hopefully!) go round the world.

I'm just at the information gathering stage, but my current ideas are to build the main structure out of PCV piping so it is semi-submersible and will auto self-right, solar recharging, some sort of Raspberry Pi navigation and maybe satellite or Lora communications. This is just a hobby so I'm trying to do it on a very tight budget!

The questions I have now is the propulsion for the boat. The 2 main contenders I see it are:

• 2x underwater electric thrusters to give skid steering
  • 1x waterjet pump with a direction nozzle

I think that the main requirements are:

1. reliable for long running without any maintenance.
  2. survive big waves and not break
  3. strong thrust against currents
  4. low power consumption
  5. easy to build for a total noob!

I would really appreciate your thoughts and ideas so I don't go off down the wrong path.

Thanks muchly!

Dochas.
Back to top Go down
Roadrunner
Forum Overlord
Forum Overlord
Roadrunner

PostSubject: Re: Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion   Help with Autonomous Boat Propulsion EmptyTue Apr 13, 2021 10:43 pm