TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Please login using your username and password to use the forum.

If you do not have an account please register to participate, it’s free!
TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

https://www.thercmodelboatforum.com/

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

painting rc tug boats

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Ron Cascone
Deck Hand
Deck Hand

painting rc tug boats Empty
PostSubject: painting rc tug boats   painting rc tug boats EmptySat Jan 11, 2020 2:28 pm

i'm new to this. What is the best paint and method for painting my my dumas Brooklyn?
Back to top Go down
Roadrunner
Forum Overlord
Forum Overlord
Roadrunner

PostSubject: Re: painting rc tug boats   painting rc tug boats EmptySat Jan 11, 2020 9:20 pm

Depends on the material, wooden I would seal with car lacquer first prime ( white for colours, grey for black colour over top, red primer for under water line, seal with final cop coat of lacquer) then car paint (colour) rub down between coats, lacquer to finish buff and polish or for your tug satin finish not gloss! 

Plastic hull/structures use a plastic based primer ( it etches better other wise it has a habit to just peel up) then Any car paints on top, lacquer finish, again satin. 

GRP (Fiberglass) and metals any car primer + colour and satin finish. ( although metal parts you want an etching primer) 

Other options...

Air brush acrylics or hand... work fine but the final coats have to be durable so again car lacquers or varnishes.

Finally enamels! I put enamels last and I wouldn’t use them for anything but a brass part in today’s world, however that said if you can wait long enough between coats and give it 6months to really harden up after painting they can give astonishing finishes with wet and dry and buff and polish!