TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Please login using your username and password to use the forum.

If you do not have an account please register to participate, it’s free!
TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

https://www.thercmodelboatforum.com/

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Sea Urchin - ESC - advice please

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
MrChel
Deck Hand
Deck Hand

Sea Urchin - ESC - advice please Empty
PostSubject: Sea Urchin - ESC - advice please   Sea Urchin - ESC - advice please EmptySun May 03, 2020 1:00 pm

Apologies for what may seem a daft question but I’m new to the hobby and this is my first attempt at building a boat.

I’m building a Sea Urchin and in no small measure relying on the advice of Roadrunner from his build log for the same vessel. I have acquired an Overlander Thumper 2822/27 1200kv Brushless out runner; in fact the same motor as used by Roadrunner. What I now need is a suitable speed controller. As I understand the ESC should have reverse capability. So far, the ESCs that I can find on the web for a brushless motor all have a water-cooling feature. To my mind, I cannot see that I would require to use water-cooling for an ESC for this small vessel – am I right? If I am correct in this thought, then can I use an ESC without hooking up the water cooling? If by any chance Roadrunner views this post – could you please tell me what ESC you utilised for the Urchin. Many thanks in advance!
Back to top Go down
barriew
Captain (moderator)
Captain (moderator)

PostSubject: Re: Sea Urchin - ESC - advice please   Sea Urchin - ESC - advice please EmptySun May 03, 2020 1:53 pm

Firstly welcome to the site.