TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Please login using your username and password to use the forum.

If you do not have an account please register to participate, it’s free!
TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

https://www.thercmodelboatforum.com/

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Rusting things up

Go down 
+3
Footski
Norseman
AlanP
7 posters
AuthorMessage
AlanP
Master
Master
AlanP

Rusting things up Empty
PostSubject: Rusting things up   Rusting things up EmptySat Nov 26, 2011 8:49 pm

I would appreciate any tips on adding a bit of rust to my railings and A frame on the Shrimper as I have never done this before.

Alan
Back to top Go down
Norseman
Master
Master
Norseman

Rusting things up Empty
PostSubject: Re: Rusting things up   Rusting things up EmptySat Nov 26, 2011 9:28 pm

Hi Alan

I can't vouch for it but you might look at http://metalgeek.com/archives/2006/06/13/000065.php

Dave
Back to top Go down
Footski
Master
Master
Footski

Rusting things up Empty
PostSubject: Re: Rusting things up   Rusting things up EmptySat Nov 26, 2011 10:15 pm

I use rusting powders, which are exactly that, powders that are the same colour as rust. They come in various shades are are simply applied by brush, blown off to leave just the right amount of rusting and then sealed with a matt varnish.
Back to top Go down
Norseman
Master
Master
Norseman

Rusting things up Empty
PostSubject: Re: Rusting things up   Rusting things up EmptySat Nov 26, 2011 11:22 pm

Would the powders allow you to produce this type of thing?

Rusting things up 1650910

Dave
Back to top Go down

Rusting things up Empty
PostSubject: Re: Rusting things up   Rusting things up EmptySun Nov 27, 2011 12:04 am

Yes!!!!!!!!! I recently bought 2 sets of 3 colours on ebay to age and de-plastic a RTR Carrier I also bought on ebay made by Tamiya in 4 packs A,B,C,D. i GOT THE c &d