TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Please login using your username and password to use the forum.

If you do not have an account please register to participate, it’s free!
TheRcModelBoatForum.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

https://www.thercmodelboatforum.com/

HomeHome  PortalPortal  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

What's in a Modeler's Toolbox?

Go down 
+6
Kleban
AlanP
GWA84
Roadrunner
Tug--Kenny
Norseman
10 posters
AuthorMessage
Norseman
Master
Master
Norseman

What's in a Modeler's Toolbox? Empty
PostSubject: What's in a Modeler's Toolbox?   What's in a Modeler's Toolbox? EmptyFri Jun 17, 2011 11:31 pm

Hi

I'm just starting out it occurs to me that almost every tool I have is geared towards the full scale world - so a reasonable question would seem to be; What do I absolutely need, and what items should I get next. Having asked that - I want to try and scratch build, and it won't be sailing ships if that's relevant.

Regards Norseman
Back to top Go down
Tug--Kenny
Lost But Never Forgotten R.I.P
Tug--Kenny

PostSubject: Re: What's in a Modeler's Toolbox?   What's in a Modeler's Toolbox? EmptySat Jun 18, 2011 11:10 am

Hi Norseman

You Will need all your grown up tools and maybe some extra ones.

I assume from your letter that you are thinking in miniature. There aren't many small tools really needed except fine cutting and working tools. I rate the Stanley knife my best tool and keep the blade in mint condition. Now that I've learnt to keep my fingers well clear, it is a fantastic tool.

Also I love my sanding machines and can work plastic and wood to a superb finish. This can include a belt sander and a table disk sander. The Dremmel tool comes to mind but can be a pain on the vibration front, if it has flexible drive shaft.

Happy modelling

Ken

Back to top Go down
Roadrunner
Forum Overlord
Forum Overlord
Roadrunner